Skip to main content

The Royal Northern Agricultural Society

Patron HRH The Princess Royal

About RNAS
Diary Dates
Press Releases
Spring Show
Specialist Events
Countryside Live 2016
Achieving Excellence
RNAS North East Awards
Farming Practice Awards
Cereals and Turnips
Contact Us
RNAS North East Awards
Every year the Society brings together a panel from a range of leading organisations in the North East to help it to honour individuals who have been nominated for Outstanding Service to Agriculture. Anyone may put forward nominations and four winners are selected annually.  The presentations are made in association with key sponsors at the Royal Northern Awards Lunch in November. On this distinguished occasion the Society also recognises three promising agricultural students and engineering apprentices.

How to Nominate someone for an RNAS award

Local organisations are asked to nominate individuals for these awards and provide citations supporting the nominations. Individuals may also nominate others and provide citations. Selection is based on the information provided in the citation. Each citation should be limited to two sides of A4 and include:

  • The award they are nominated for
  • An outline of what the nominee has done
  • Why the nominee deserves the Award

Those seeking assistance in drafting citations are welcome to contact the RNAS Secretary in confidence.(The citations of the successful nominees will be made available to speakers before the Awards Ceremony)

Closing Date for 2017 Nominations: Monday 10th July 2017


Awards Luncheon

The 2016 awards luncheon was held on the 4th of November at The Jurys Inn, Dyce. This is always a very well-attended function where all are welcome to attend.


Pictured below are the 2016 award winners



Public Award

 The Public Award is presented to a public figure or personality for Services to
The recipient receives the Press & Journal /RNAS. shield for one year, a certificate and an award from the Society.


   Pictured left is Gemma MacKenzie of the Press & Journal, presenting the award to  North-east ploughing champion and contractor, Dave Carnegie.





Local Award

  The Local Award is presented to a non-public figure who has in their own way made an outstanding contribution to progress in the industry. The recipient will receive the Aberdeen and Northern Marts/RNAS Award for Services to Local Communities, Specialist Farming Organisations or Groups, a certificate and the name of the recipient will be inscribed upon the Roll of Honour at the Thainstone Centre.


  Pictured left is ANM Group Vice Chairman, Pete Watson presenting the award to RNAS secretary, Alison Argo, Willowbank, Devilly Wood, Laurencekirk.





 David Argo Award

The David Argo Award is presented to an “Unsung Hero” employed in the agricultural sector who merits particular recognition but who might not qualify for the other awards.



Pictured left is RNAS president, Janelle Anderson, presenting the Unsung Hero award to George McCombie, recently retired director of Feedmix Ltd, Turriff. 







Under 35 Award

 The Under 35 Award is presented to someone in that age group who has shown

  significant achievement and contribution in agriculture. The recipient receives the

  SAC/RNAS shield for one year, a certificate and an award from the Society.

 The Under-35 Award was presented by Dr Kyrsten Black (left), Assistant Principal of SRUC, to Mrs Rachel Turner, Project Manager of the Royal Northern Countryside Initiative (RNCI), who was accompanied by RNCI past chairman, Billy Stewart.









Click here to see a full list of previous award winners